Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

In the foundation stage (Nursery and Reception), children learn foundation skills in three prime areas, which include:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

And four specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Within these areas the children's development is carefully assessed so that it is easy for the teachers to see how the children's knowledge and skills are developing.